PF Blog

Meridian General Acquires PCS PowderCoat Services

16. September 2016


Meridian General Capital has acquired California-based PowderCoat Services (PCS), a production powder coater offering its customers a diverse range of related services.


Founded in 1981, PCS serves a wide spectrum of industries including automotive, home improvement, consumer products, sports equipment, musical instruments, electronics, cleaning and sanitizing, and the military.


"With this acquisition, Meridian intends to build a dynamic industrial services enterprise," said Ravi Rao, founder and chairman of Meridian. "PCS provides a solid platform that has been successful in this highly specialized niche, one that is critical to its customers and environmentally a sound replacement to paint processes. Additionally, the expertise of key management staff will assure us of meeting our ambitious growth plans in this industry segment."


Based in Anaheim, PCS operates in five plants within an industrial park. The company provides personalized service, and uses its own fleet of trucks and drivers. For information, visit


Meridian General Capital is a Los Angeles-based private equity group that invests in lower middle market growth industries and is focused on acquiring businesses that have a history of operating profits. Visit  

How KVF Quad in East Moline Survives in a Dwindling Manufacturing Industry

14. September 2016


The Quad Cities is home to manufacturing giants like John Deere and, on a smaller scale, KVF Quad Corporation, a manufacturing company in East Moline.


Television station WQAD shows us that when companies like John Deere suffer, so too does KVF Quad Corporation, which does a lot of business related to the ag industry.


"When their production rates go down, we obviously feel that," said Eric Davis, KVF Quad Corporation General Manager. "There's no way around that. When they're laying off as many people, we see a decrease in the amount of parts that come in or the frequency that they come in," he said.


KVF Quad Corporation employs about 45 people. They put all sorts of finishing touches on parts - specializing in vibratory finishing, abrasive blasting, powder coating, and deburring.


Click HERE to watch the full story

Plating Pioneer Fred Nobel Passes at 98

12. September 2016


Fred Nobel, a chemical engineer who held dozens of patents and worked to make electroplating processes more environmentally safe, died Aug. 3 at his Roslyn home of natural causes. He was 98.


Nobel was owner of LeaRonal, Inc. which developed and produced specialty chemical additives and other products used by the connector, printed circuit board, semiconductor, and metal-finishing industries.


Nobel partnered with Barney Ostrow, a boyhood friend who was also a plater and chemist. The two men started working out of a garage, developing an additive that gave copper plating a bright, shiny finish. They set up a lab in downtown Manhattan, and grew to a 30,000-square-foot plant in the Freeport-Hempstead Industrial Park and a spot on the New York Stock Exchange.


In 1999, the company sold for more than $460 million to Philadelphia-based Rohm and Haas.

John Sudges Receives CCAI James F. and David J. Wright Lifetime Achievement Award

8. September 2016

John Sudges



CCAI’s highest honor, the James F. and David J. Wright Lifetime Achievement Award, went to John Sudges of Midwest Finishing Systems. 


John is a long-time CCAI member who has served both his CCAI Northern Illinois Chapter and the CCAI National organization for many years.  He was presented with the James F. and David J. Wright Lifetime Achievement Award for his years of dedication and service to CCAI.


John served as the Northern Illinois Chapter president numerous times and provides countless hours of support in coordinating chapter events and educational programs.  On the national level, John has served in all officer roles, including two years as the CCAI National President, as well as several years on the board of directors.  John joined CCAI 18 years ago and continues to support CCAI’s efforts by presenting at seminars, webinars and FABTECH. 


“What an honor to be awarded the James & David Wright Lifetime Achievement Award." Sudges said. "It is truly humbling to be given such a prestigious award and to be recognized by your peers. To be grouped with the past honorees of this award is truly an honor that I will not take lightly and I am proud to be among them. CCAI has had a significant impact on me, not only in my profession, but also personally.”  

Columbia Chemical Names Schario And Boehmer To New Positions

8. September 2016
Mark Schario and Jeffrey Boehmer

Mark Schario and Jeffrey Boehmer


Columbia Chemical has named Mark Schario to the position of Vice President, Global Business Development, and Jeffrey Boehmer, CEF, to the position of Director, Domestic Business Development.


In his new role, Schario will align Columbia’s product development, technical support and sales activities with the ever-changing needs of the surface finishing industry.  He will continue to lead the company’s Columbia Approved Resource (C.A.R.) audit program and expanding automotive/OEM partnering initiatives.  Mark has 35 years of industry experience, most recently serving as Vice President, Technologies for Columbia Chemical.


Boehmer, in his new position, will be responsible for driving the continued domestic sales growth of the company’s functional and decorative product lines.  He will also focus on adding enhancements to Columbia’s existing technical service and product support resources.  Jeff most recently served as Technical Support Manager and has 18 years of experience in the surface finishing industry.


For information, contact Columbia Chemical at 330-225-3200,  

« Prev | | Next »

RSS RSS  |  Atom Atom

Suppliers | Products | Experts | News | Articles | Calendar | Process Zones

The Voice of the Finishing Industry Since 1936 Copyright © Gardner Business Media, Inc. 2016

Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | All Rights Reserved