NLSC Machining Champion Award Winners Named

Students competed in CNC milling, CNC turning and precision machining challenges.

The 49th annual SkillsUSA National Leadership and Skills Conference (NLSC) showcased talented career and technical education students competing against each other in different trades. The event is designed as an opportunity for students, parents, teachers and the general public to learn about trade and technology occupations.

This year’s SkillsUSA Machining Championship award, administered by the SME Education Foundation, was funded by a $27,000 grant from the Gene Haas Foundation. Gold medal winners received a $2,000 award, while silver and bronze medalists received $1,500 and $1,000, respectively. Eighteen awards were bestowed at the June 28 awards ceremony in Kansas City, Missouri.

Recipients from the CNC milling category are: Axel Marohnic and Matthew Gillett (gold medalists); Craig Hurst and Jonathon Ferreira (silver); and Cody Hanson and Jesse Peña (bronze).

Recipients from the CNC turning category are: Benjamin Hale and Adam Prante (gold); Mark Lowrey and Dakota Rostron (silver); and Michael Campbell and Kyle Jankowski (bronze).

Recipients from the precision machining technology category are: Cody Coffin and Neil Niña (gold); Kevin Martin and James Wheatley (silver); and Joseph Olson and John Reiter (bronze).

SkillsUSA, visit
SME Educational Foundation, visit
The Gene Haas Foundation, visit