CCAI Announces 2013 Award Winners

Jim Docken of DuBois Chemicals receives CCAI's highest honor, The James F. Wright Lifetime Achievement Award.


Facebook Share Icon LinkedIn Share Icon Twitter Share Icon Share by EMail icon Print Icon

Jim Docken (left) of DuBois Chemicals receives CCAI's highest honor, The James F. Wright Lifetime Achievement Award from CCAI President Sam Woehler.


The Chemical Coaters Association International honored members for service and dedication and installed its 2013 – 2014 Officers and National Board members during their 2013 Annual Meeting held in Mt. Hood, OR in June.


During its Annual Awards luncheon, CCAI presented Jim Docken of DuBois Chemicals with its highest honor, The James F. Wright Lifetime Achievement Award.  Jim was recognized for his years of dedicated service to CCAI; in fact, he is CCAI’s longest continuous member ever!  He has been a member since 1977, has served his chapter, Twin Cities, as their Treasurer for 20 years!


Jim also served on the chapter Executive, Golf, & Symposium Committees over the years.  Additionally, Jim has served on the CCAI National Board for 9 years and continues to serve on the Custom Coaters Committee for National. CCAI is fortunate to have his commitment as a member and a leader.  Jim was touched by the award, “It’s a great honor to be chosen among so many dedicated members.”



Products Finishing publisher Todd Luciano receicves an award from Sam Woehler.


In addition to the Lifetime Achievement Award, CCAI recognized Products Finishing Magazine for its years of dedication and support to CCAI and our mission of providing education and networking to the finishing industry.  Publisher, Todd Luciano has been a long-time member and National Board Director and was pleased to receive the award on behalf of PF Magazine. 

"It is always wonderful to be recognized by your peers, but we especially appreciate the recognition because we enjoy working with the CCAI group so much. We know how hard the CCAI Board works for the organization, and to be singled out in recognition of our partnership with CCAI is very humbling and appreciated."


The CCAI Annual Awards luncheon is traditionally the time to honor its Chapter User and Supplier of the Year members.  Chapters recognize a User and Supplier member for their year-long service and dedication to their respective Chapter. This year was no different.  CCAI is grateful for the support of all the chapters and is happy to recognize this year’s recipients.


The 2013-2014 Chapter Award winners are:  Central States Chapter – Nathan Finney, IHD Powerdcoat Services, Inc. and Jeff Brady, Contrast Equipment Co.; Iowa/Central Illinois Chapter – Angela Ploegman, John Deere & Co. and Mark Wittig, Calvary Industries Inc.; Southern California Chapter - Shivie Dhillon, Sundial Powder Coating and Ronald Lum, Coral Chemical Co.; Twin Cities Chapter Kent Kienitz, Powder Coating Technologies, Inc. and Michelle Striggow, Graco, Inc.; West Michigan Chapter -  Herb Knape, Knape Industries, Inc. and Ken Pelak, Broadmoor Products Inc.; and Wisconsin Chapter Jim Gallagher, Harley-Davidson Motor Co. and Dan Curtin, Prime Coatings Co.;


CCAI is very pleased to have the leadership of the following individuals for the 2nd year of their term as National Board of Directors Officers for 2013-2014:


President:  Sam Woehler, George Koch Sons LLC - Unaffiliated 


Vice President: Kevin Coursin, KMI Systems – Northern Illinois Chapter


Treasurer:  Ron Lum, Coral Chemical Co. – Southern California Chapter


Recent Past President: Sherrill Stoenner, Stoenner Finishing Consultants – Central States Chapter


In addition to the officers, serving on the National Board of Directors for the 2013-2014 programming year will be:  Jim Andrews, Pneu-Mech Systems Mfg., LLC – Atlantic Coast Chapter; Trena Benson, Axalta Powder Coatings - Texas Chapter; Tom Boland, Calvary Industries – Iowa/Central Illinois Chapter; Bruce Bryan, Mighty Hook – Northern Illinois Chapter;  Jim Docken, DuBois Chemical Co. – Twin Cities Chapter; Duane Fudge, Chemetall - Mid-Atlantic Chapter; Jim Gallagher, Harley Davidson - Wisconsin Chapter; Loren Keene, Wagner Systems, Inc. – Central States Chapter; Todd Luciano, Products FinishingGreater Cincinnati Chapter; Jim Malloy, Kolene Corp. - Unaffiliated;  Tim Milner, JIT Powder Coating – Twin Cities Chapter; Bill Oney, American Finishing Resources - Wisconsin Chapter;  John Sudges, Midwest Finishing Systems – Northern Illinois Chapter; Serving as Ex-officio Board members are Vicki Gelling, North Dakota State University – Unaffliated; Larry Melgary, Northern Coatings & Chemicals – Wisconsin Chapter;  David Scharphorn, ChemQuest Inc. - West Michigan Chapter; and Bob Warren, retired – West Michigan Chapter.


CCAI’s 2014 Annual Meeting is scheduled for June 21-24 at the Miramonte Resort and Spa in Indian Springs, CA.


CCAI is a non-profit technical and professional association that provides information and education on surface coating technologies worldwide.  Visit CCAI on the web at www.ccaiweb.com.