3/1/2018 | 2 MINUTE READ

NASF Seeks Nomination for Industry Awards

Facebook Share Icon LinkedIn Share Icon Twitter Share Icon Share by EMail icon Print Icon

The NASF will recognize a number of well-deserving individuals in several different awards categories. Nominations are due by March 30.

The National Association for Surface Finishing is seeking nominations to recognize strong leaders who have selflessly dedicated their time and resources to the finishing industry for award that will be presented at the Sur/Fin conference in June in Cleveland.

“These volunteers work to further the association on both the local and national stages so the next generation of professionals have even greater support and opportunities,” says Tony Revier from Uyemura International, the NASF awards committee chairperson. “This recognition of key leaders who have gone above and beyond, demonstrate what is unique and admired about our association.”

The NASF will recognize a number of well deserving individuals in the following awards categories. Nominations are due by March 30.

NASF Fellow: the NASF Fellow is an award to recognize people who have been NASF members for the past five years, who have shown outstanding service, contribution, and long-standing commitment to NASF for the advancement of the interest of the surface finishing industry.  The NASF Fellow honor is modeled after the AESF Fellow that was established in 1997.

Award of Merit: outstanding service of a local and/or national nature - Recipients truly deserving of this award have given a great deal of time, effort, and devotion to the industry on either a local or national level.

Taormina Award: one of NASF's most prestigious awards given to an individual who has performed outstanding service to the finishing industry.  Past award winners have been among the most dedicated individuals to improving our industry.

August P. Munning Award: given to a supplier member who, in the opinion of his peers, has significantly contributed to the future well-being of the Association and exemplifies the traits of August P. Munning - his great interest, hard work, dedication, and selfless devotion to the metal finishing industry.

Scientific Achievement Award: recognizes a person who has contributed to the advancement of the theory and ractice of electroplating, metal finishing, and the allied arts; raised the quality of processes and products; enhanced the dignity and status of the profession; or has been involved in a combination of these efforts. The first recipient of this award was Dr. William Blum, Sr., who was instrumental in the establishment of fundamental research in the Society.

Presidential Award: focuses on the extraordinary service put forth by a NASF member who is actively participating on the national level, going above and beyond the capacity of most.

Visit short.pfonline.com/NASFawards to begin the nomination process.  

NASF will be accepting nominations for these awards until March 30, and will then be reviewed by the NASF awards committee.

Related Topics


  • Coating Thickness Measurement: The Fundamentals

    A review of available test methods, common applications and innovative instrumentation...

  • Masking for Surface Finishing

    Masking is employed in most any metal finishing operation where only a specifically defined area of the surface of a part must be exposed to a process. Conversely, masking may be employed on a surface where treatment is either not required or must be avoided. This article covers the many aspects of masking for metal finishing, including applications, methods and the various types of masking employed.

  • Citric Acid Passivation of Stainless Steel

    An alternative product for passivation...