CCAI Elects Bill Oney as President, Honors Sam Woehler at Annual Meeting

Also announces 2019-20 national board of directors and officers.  


Facebook Share Icon LinkedIn Share Icon Twitter Share Icon Share by EMail icon Print Icon

The Chemical Coaters Association International (CCAI) held its annual meeting in Hilton Head, South Carolina, where it presented awards and announced its national board of directors and officers.

CCAI presented the James and David Wright Lifetime Achievement Award to Sam Woehler of George Koch Sons. This award is CCAI’s highest honor and is awarded to members of the association who have given years of service to CCAI and the industrial finishing industry. Woehler has been a member of CCAI for 14 years, serving on the national board of directors for the past 13 years and was CCAI national president in 2012-2014. He was instrumental in launching the CCAI Finishing Education Foundation, contributed as an author to several CCAI training manuals, and was heavily involved in the research and decision for CCAI to become a partner of FABTECH.

The group also presented chapter awards to: Central States – Frank Laster, A-1 Paint Powder and Sandblasting, and Ron Cudzilo, George Koch Sons; Georgia – Wayne Pettyjohn, Georgia Power, Las Vegas; Tony Sclafani, AR Iron; and Sercy Spears, Tiger Drylac; Northern Illinois – Matt Ambrose, Henkel; Salt Lake City – Ginny Phommavongsay, Martin Door Mfg.; Southern California - Shivie Dhillon, Sundial Powder Coating; Tony Sclafani, AR Iron; and Luis Hernandez, Coral Chemical; Twin Cities - Mark Walsworth, retired, and Jim Henningsen, Troy Chemical; West Michigan - in memory of Herb Knape, Knape Industries, and Jason Meekof, Industrial Metal Cleaning; and Wisconsin – Justin Jarmuz, Wacker Neuson, and Matt Roeser, DuBois Chemical.

Officers for CCAI national board of directors include Bill Oney, Therma-Tron-X, Wisconsin chapter, president; Duane Fudge, Chemetall US, unaffiliated, vice president; Tony Sclafani, AR Iron, Las Vegas chapter, treasurer; and Ron Lum, Coral Chemical, Southern California chapter, recent past president .

Others serving on the national board of directors include Kevin Coursin, George Koch Sons, Northern Illinois chapter; Shivie Dhillon, SunDial Powder Coatings, Southern California chapter; Jim Gallagher, Harley-Davidson Motor Co., Wisconsin chapter; Russ Green, Midwest Finishing Systems, Northern Ohio chapter; Loren Keene, Pneu-Mech Systems Mfg., Central States chapter; Dan Labrecque, Tiger Drylac USA, West Michigan chapter; Todd Luciano, Products Finishing, Greater Cincinnati chapter; Jim Malloy, Kolene, – Southeast Michigan chapter; Mark Walsworth, retired, Twin Cities chapter; Bob Warren, retired, West Michigan chapter; Jeff Watson, Custom Chemicals of Texas, Texas chapter; and Sam Woehler, George Koch Sons, unaffiliated. Serving as ex officio board member is Larry Melgary, Northern Coatings and Chemical, Wisconsin chapter.


  • Curing Oven Basics

    Simply heating up the substrate does not cure the coating. There are many variables to consider when choosing the best cure oven for your application...

  • Touch-up Options for Powder Coated Parts [EXPERT]

    Question: I’ve been told that a powder coated part cannot be “touched-up.” I have some patio furniture that I had powder coated and the powder coating shop that did the work for me stripped the threads in holes used to rack the part.

  • Understanding Fluidized Bed Powder Coating

    For more than 50 years, fluidized beds have been used to coat parts with powder coatings. In this article, two industry experts tackle some common questions about the fluidized bed process…