Powder Coating Institute Awards 2020 Scholarships

The Powder Coating Institute has awarded its 2020 scholarship to six exceptional students studying subjects that can lead to powder coating careers.


Facebook Share Icon LinkedIn Share Icon Twitter Share Icon Share by EMail icon Print Icon

Celine Schmitt, one of six 2020 PCI scholarship award-winners

The Powder Coating Institute (PCI) recently awarded its 2020 scholarships to students studying various subjects that can lead to a career in powder coating.

“As the Baby Boomers retire, the powder coating industry needs to replace them with new, young talent. The PCI scholarship program is the industry’s investment into fulfilling this need. We are excited to present awards to six deserving students who are studying chemistry and engineering with the hope that they will join our industry after they graduate,” states Kevin Coursin, PCI executive director.

PCI administers the scholarship program, which promotes and solicits applications from students through numerous educational institutions and the industry at large. 

The scholarship program continues to grow and attract new talent to the powder coating industry, which includes students pursuing degrees in polymer science, manufacturing, engineering, business management and marketing. With continued support from corporate donors, the scholarship program reaches students throughout the country in efforts to steer them into careers in the powder coating industry.

The 2020 PCI Scholarship Program awarded $30,000 in total, which includes donations of $5,000 from each of four corporate donors: Axalta Coating Systems, Gema USA Inc., Nordson Corporation and PPG.

Congratulations to the following students who were awarded scholarships this year:

PCI Corporate Scholarship Recipients

PCI/Axalta Scholarship 

Robert Bouscher, University of Akron

PCI/Gema Scholarship

Molly Sanchez, Indiana Tech

PCI/Nordson Ken Kreeger Scholarship

Dakota Weinman, Case Western Reserve University

PCI/PPG Scholarship

Mark Rupert, University of Cincinnati

PCI General Scholarship Recipients

Sydney Preston, University of Cincinnati

Celine Schmitt, University of Cincinnati