CCAI Honors Award Winners, Names New Board

The James F. and David J. Wright Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Kevin Coursin of Engineered Finishing Systems for his dedication and commitment to the organization.


Facebook Share Icon LinkedIn Share Icon Twitter Share Icon Share by EMail icon Print Icon

During its annual meeting in New Mexico, the Chemical Coaters Association International (CCAI) not only installed its 2017-18 national board of directors and officers, but it also held an awards ceremony to recognize the CCAI Chapter User and Supplier of the Year and announce the 2017 James F. and David J. Wright Lifetime Achievement Award winner. CCAI has honored 12 recipients in the 11 years it has presented this prestigious award, and this year it recognized Kevin Coursin of Engineered Finishing Systems for his dedication and commitment to the organization. 

Kevin joined CCAI in 2003, and during his 14 years of membership, he has been incredibly active, according to CCAI. He has served the Northern Illinois Chapter as treasurer and has been a member of its for many years. He regularly attends chapter events and ensures his staff is involved in all chapter events and activities as well. In addition to supporting his local chapter, Kevin has served on the CCAI national board for 10 years, holding all of the national officer positions, including president, at one time or another. He currently is chair of CCAI’s membership committee. He has also has presented at numerous CCAI conferences and training seminars. 

"I would like to thank CCAI for bestowing the James F. and David J. Wright Lifetime Achievement Award upon me," Coursin said in accepting the award. "It is a great feeling to be recognized by your peers for work put in on behalf of the organization. It is a great honor to be counted among the best in the finishing industry who have already received this award. We, and all the staff at CCAI, continuously work towards a common goal of improving our industry. I hope to continue to serve CCAI for many years and help the association achieve many more of our goals. Thank you again for this honor."

Each year CCAI chapters also recognize a User and a Supplier member for their service and dedication to their respective chapters. Chapters are the foundation on which the association is built, CCAI says, and it is grateful for the service and dedication of those who continue to support its mission to build a better finishing industry.

The 2016-17 chapter award winners are: Central States – Nathan Finney, IHD Powdercoat Services Inc., and Josh Gilmore, IntelliFinishing; Georgia – Derek Dennis, Matrix Powder Technology; Iowa/Central Illinois – Seth Padilla, Macon of Kewanee, and Kevin Irving, AZZ Metal Coatings; Las Vegas – Tony Sclafani, AR Iron LLC, and Sercy Spears, Coral Chemical Co.; Northern Illinois – Kevin Coursin, Engineered Finishing Systems; Salt Lake City – Ginny Phommavongsay, Martin Door Manufacturing, and Ron Lum, Coral Chemical Co.; Southern California – Shivie Dhillon, Sundial Powder Coating, and Antonio Tapia, Coral Chemical Co.; Twin Cities – Angela Kokesh, Life Fitness, and Pat Cullen, Cullen Equipment LLC; West Michigan – Marc Sanchez, Techno-Coat Inc., and Dale Mulder, ChemQuest Inc..; and Wisconsin – Will Hochschild, Wacker Neuson Corp., and Terry Welch, Prime Coatings Co.

Officers of the organization's national Board of Directors for 2017-18:

  • President – Ron Lum, Coral Chemical Co. (Southern California Chapter)
  • Vice President – Bill Oney, Therma-Tron-X (Wisconsin Chapter)
  • Treasurer – Duane Fudge, Chemetall (Unaffiliated)
  • Recent Past President – Kevin Coursin, Engineered Finishing Systems (Northern Illinois Chapter)

In addition to these officers, the following members also will serve on the national Board of Directors for the 2017-18: Shivie Dhillon, SunDial Powder Coatings (Southern California Chapter); Jim Gallagher, Harley Davidson (Wisconsin Chapter); Kevin Irving, AZZ Metal Coatings (Iowa/Central Illinois Chapter); Loren Keene, Pneu-Mech Systems Mfg. (Central States Chapter); Dan Labrecque, Tiger Drylac USA Inc. (West Michigan Chapter); Todd Luciano, Products Finishing (Greater Cincinnati Chapter); Jim Malloy, Kolene Corp. (Unaffiliated); Ron McMahon (Northern Ohio Chapter); Tim Milner, JIT Powder Coating (Twin Cities Chapter); Tony Sclafani, AR Iron LLC (Las Vegas Chapter); Mark Walsworth, Nordic Ware Inc. (Twin Cities Chapter); Bob Warren (West Michigan Chapter); and Sam Woehler, George Koch Sons LLC (Unaffiliated).Larry Melgary, Northern Coatings & Chemicals (Wisconsin Chapter) will serve as an ex-officio board member.

CCAI is a non-profit technical and professional association that provides information and education on surface coating technologies worldwide. Visit ccaiweb.com